Georgia’s Senators Receive Friend Of Farm Bureau Award

Georgia Farm Bureau President Zippy Duvall and American Farm Bureau Federation Executive Director of Public Policy Dale Moore presented U.S. Sens. Saxby Chambliss and Johnny Isakson with the Friend of Farm Bureau Award in recognition of their support of agriculture during the 112th Congress. The award presentation occurred during a recent breakfast Georgia Farm Bureau held for its members in Washington, D.C.

"Senators Chambliss and Isakson have shown consistent strong support for Georgia agriculture on a variety of key issues," Duvall said. "We're extremely grateful for the positions they've taken on behalf of agriculture to allow continued success and growth in the state's largest industry."

Sen. Chambliss serves on four Senate committees, including the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry. He is the vice chairman of the Senate Committee on Intelligence Committee and has seats on committees covering the armed services and rules and administration. Sen. Isakson serves on Senate committees that have jurisdiction over finance, education, healthcare, transportation, and veterans' affairs. He also serves on the Senate Select Committee on Ethics.

The American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) gives the award at the end of each Congress to legislators based on their voting record in agreement with AFBF's priority issues. The AFBF Board of Directors, on which Duvall serves, established these priority issues.

Founded in 1937, Georgia Farm Bureau is the state's largest general farm organization and has 158 county offices. Its volunteer members actively participate in local, state and national activities that promote agriculture awareness to their non-farming neighbors. GFB also has 20 agricultural commodity advisory committees that give the organization input on issues pertinent to the major crops and livestock grown in Georgia.

From Georgia Farm Bureau News